Federal Executive

The Federal Executive (FE) is the governing body of the Federal Party. It is responsible for directing, co-ordinating, and implementing the work of the Federal Party.

The FE is Chaired by the Party President, and has representatives of the members (15 members elected by Conference), the state parties, MPs, Peers, MEPs, and councillors.

The next elections are due to take place in Autumn 2016. The current membership is as follows.

Sal-brinton.jpgChair: Baroness Sal Brinton (Party President)

Sal was introduced to the House of Lords in 2011, and was elected Party President in November 2014. She was previously the Lib Dem PPC for Watford in 2010 and 2005 and South East Cambridgeshire in 2001 and 1997. She was a Cambridgeshire County Councillor from 1993 to 2004, holding the Education portfolio from 1993-97, and then Leader of the Opposition.

Twitter_grey_(small).png follow   

Baroness-Falkner.jpgBaroness Falkner of Margravine (Peer Rep)

Kishwer Falkner has been heavily involved in international development at the Commonwealth Secretariat. Previously she has been Director of International Affairs for the Liberal Democrats. 

Twitter_grey_(small).png follow 


Catherine Bearder MEP (MEP Rep)

Catherine Bearder was elected as MEP for South East England in 2009, and again in 2014. She is President of the Green Liberal Democrats and has a special interest in biodiversity protection and fighting human trafficking.

Twitter_grey_(small).png follow 

Steve Jarvis (English Party Chair)

Steve Jarvis chairs the English Council, the English Council Executive and sits on the Federal Executive as the English Vice-President of the Federal Party. He has previously been Treasurer of the English Party and Chair of the East of England Region. Steve is a councillor and has been a parliamentary candidate on three occasions.

Craig-Harris.jpgCraig Harrow (Scottish Convenor, Scottish Vice President)

Convener of the Scottish Liberal Democrats and the Vice President of the Liberal Democrats, Craig has vast experience of working on complex infrastructure, energy and planning projects offering strategic political communications and campaigning advice.

Twitter_grey_(small).png follow

Rodney Berman (Chair of the Welsh NEC)

Cllr Chris White (Councillor rep)

Chris was instrumental in setting up the East of England Regional Assembly in 1997. He is a member of St Albans District Council and is deputy leader of the Lib Dem Group on St Albans District Council. He is a member of the Management Committee of ALDC and works in public affairs.


Baroness Kath Pinnock (Councillor rep)

Kath was elected to Kirklees Council in 1987 to a ward which had not had previous Lib Dem councillors. She served on the Board of Yorkshire Forward for 10 years supporting a carbon reduction strategy for the Region. She is currently vice-chair of ALDC and for 4 years was Chair.

Twitter_grey_(small).png follow

Anthony-Hook.jpgAnthony Hook (English Party rep)

Antony was running mate to Catherine Bearder MEP and chaired the Liberal Democrat European Election Campaign in the South East - the only region that secured the election of an MEP in 2014. He has over 16 years’ experience as a local and regional party officer and is a strong defender of civil liberties. 

Dan_Farthing.jpgDan Farthing (Scottish Party rep)

Dan Farthing is a charity manager and campaigner. He has been an active Liberal Democrat since helping to establish the Lancaster University student branch. After leaving University he fought the first Scottish Parliamentary Election helping to return John Farquhar Munro MSP.


Baroness Christine Humphreys (Welsh Party rep)

Chris Humphreys is a former Borough Councillor, Welsh Assembly Member and President of the Welsh Party. Her background is in Education - she was an English Teacher and Head of Vocational Education in a Welsh-Medium Comprehensive School in North Wales and latterly worked for Bangor University on Intensive Welsh courses for Adults.

Dawn Barnes 

Dawn is an experienced campaigner who has been involved in development and key seat campaigns and understands the party at the grass roots level. She is also a communications professional, currently working for a university, a member of the leadership programme and a charity trustee, as well as a member of the London Region Exec with a focus on diversity.

Twitter_grey_(small).png follow

Ramesh Dewan

Josh Dixon


Sue Doughty

Sue was recently on the Defence Policy working group, and takes a keen interest in environmental policy.  On the Federal Executive she chairs the Democratic Reform Working Group which is working on better ways to ensure that members have a greater say in the running of the party.

Twitter_grey_(small).png follow

Neil Fawcett


Jonathan Fryer

Jonathan Fryer is a former Chair of London Liberal Democrats, London borough councillor and Euro-candidate. He is currently a member of the party's parliamentary International Affairs Team and International Relations Committee, as well as the ALDE (European Liberal Democrats) Council.

Twitter_grey_(small).png follow


James Gurling

James was elected 3 times to Southwark Council. James was a press Aide to Paddy Ashdown on the '97 General Election tour and later Leadership Election Agent to Charles Kennedy. He is now the FE's representative on FCC and Chairs the Party's Campaigns & Communications Committee.

Twitter_grey_(small).png follow

Evan-Harris.jpgEvan Harris

Evan Harris was the MP for Oxford West and Abingdon from 1997 to 2010. Since then he has sat on the Party’s Federal Policy Committee, and regularly writes for the Guardian.

Twitter_grey_(small).png follow


Keith_House.jpgKeith House 

Keith is Leader of Eastleigh Borough Council, group leader on Hampshire County Council and the Lib Dem lead at the LGA on Housing, Planning, Waste and Energy issues. Keith is a strong advocate of devolution having introduced Local Area Committees at Eastleigh. He has been involved in democracy projects across the world, training and observing elections.  

Twitter_grey_(small).png follow

Kavya-Kaushik.jpgKavya Kaushik

Kavya is the former co-Chair of Liberal Youth and currently sits on the board of Liberal Reform, as well as the FE rep to the Federal Conference Committee. Her main political interests are BME engagement and diversity policy. Kavya currently works in the education sector and is the Lib Dem PPC for Ealing Southall.

Twitter_grey_(small).png follow


Caron Lindsay

Currently Treasurer of the Scottish Party, Scottish Lib Dem Women and ASLDC Exec member and Returning Officer for Liberal Youth. Caron is co-editor of the Liberal Democrat Voice blog. She is the FE’s liaison to the East Midlands and Liberal Democrat Humanists and Secularists.

Twitter_grey_(small).png follow


Gordon Lishman

Party activist for 50 years, President for North West Region and Chair for Burnley LibDems. Policy working groups on workplace democracy, political/constitutional reform (resigned), aging society.


Pauline Pearce

Candy-Piercy.jpgCandy Piercy

Candy Piercy is best known in the Lib Dems as a trainer, agent and campaigner fighting for more women and members of ethnic minorities to be elected inside the Party and out. She is a member of the Liberal Democrat Women Executive, heads up the Campaign for Gender Balance training programme; a member of the Party's Campaigns and Communications Committee; and edits the General Election Agents Manual with Mark Pack as well as being President of the Agents and Organisers Association.

Twitter_grey_(small).png follow


Martin Tod

Martin is a City & County Councillor for Winchester and has been a Parliamentary Candidate three times. Professionally, he is Chief Executive of the Men’s Health Forum.

Twitter_grey_(small).png follow 


Sign up or log in using: or

Become a member today

Become a member today and vote on our policies.

Autumn Conference Registration

Brighton, 17-20 September 2016.