We're moving to a new website

Get a sneak peak of what's coming. Just visit: beta.libdems.org.uk

Liberal Democrats

Angela Smith

Former MP for Penistone and Stocksbridge

Originally from Grimsby, Angela is a graduate of Nottingham University and before entering Parliament worked in the NHS, the banking sector and as a further education teacher specializing in helping people who wanted a second chance to gain academic qualifications.

In 1996 she was elected to Sheffield Council, where she was cabinet member for Education. In 2005 she was elected to Parliament for the constituency of Sheffield Hillsborough. In 2010 she was re-elected for the new seat of Penistone & Stocksbridge, a seat she held at the 2015 and 2017 general elections.

She is a former PPS to Yvette Cooper MP and Assistant Opposition whip. She has held shadow ministerial positions as Shadow Deputy Leader of the House and as Shadow Minister for Water, the Marine Environment, Fisheries and Animal Welfare.

In September 2015 she stood down from the opposition front bench to concentrate on environmental issues on the EFRA Select Committee. She is also a former member of the Transport Select Committee.

She is currently joint Chair of the All-Party Group for Water and the All Party Group for Animal Welfare and is Chair of the All Party Group for the Chemical Industries.

Her main interests are the environment, food, farming and rural affairs, education and skills.

In February of 2019 she resigned from the Labour Party, after 38 years of membership, to sit as an Independent in the House of Commons. She did so because of irreconcilable differences with the leadership of the party in respect to its policy on Brexit, its economic policies and anti-Semitism.

In September of 2019 she joined the Liberal Democrats.

She is married to Steve Wilson and in her spare time enjoys hill walking, gardening and watching Sheffield Wednesday.

Sign up or log in using: or

Join us today

Britain needs Liberal voices. Add yours to ours and be part of what comes next:


Your Liberal Democrat MPs