English Liberal Democrats

The governing body of the English Liberal Democrats is the English Council, which meets twice a year. It is made up of representatives of all the English Regional Parties, who are elected at their regional conferences.

The Council elects the Chair of the English Party and the English Council Executive (ECE) and the English Candidates’ Chair and Committee.

ECE meet 5 times a year and oversee the running of the English Party between Council Meetings. ECE has two sub-committees: the English Finance & Administration Committee (EFAC) which is chaired by the Treasurer and the Regional Parties Committee (RPC) which is chaired by the Vice-Chair. At the first Executive of the year both the Vice-Chair and Treasurer are elected as well as the members for EFAC and RPC.

English Finance & Administration Committee (EFAC)

EFAC meet the most frequently as they are responsible for reporting to the ECE and conducting negotiations with the Federal Party on financial matters, liaising with auditors, day to day staffing matters such as filling vacancies and monitoring Service Level Agreements. EFAC is chaired by the Treasurer of the English Party, the Chair, Vice-chair, Chair of the English Candidates Committee and four members elected by and from ECE are also members of EFAC. Federal Party’s financial controller, staff from Membership and other appropriate members are of staff are also invited to its meetings however they do not have a vote.

Regional Parties Committee (RPC)

RPC usually meet around 5 times a year to encourage best practice amongst Regions, to discuss compliance issues and to draft strategies to promote the development of Regional Parties in terms of campaigning activity, membership and fundraising.

The RPC is chaired by the Vice-Chair, the Chair, Chair of the English Candidates Committee and four members elected by and from the ECE are also in attendance. Six other members of the English Council may also be co-opted however these have to be ratified by the ECE, these co-options must, in the eyes of the ECE poses experience or expertise relevant to the function of the RPC. Relevant members of staff may also be invited to these meetings although they do not have a vote.

Your Elected Representatives

Click on the profiles below to find out about the MPs and London Assembly Members representing you in England.

  • Tom Brake

    Tom Brake

    Exiting the European Union; International Trade; First Secretary of State, MP for Carshalton and Wallington

  • Lorely Burt

    Lorely Burt

    Baroness Burt of Solihull, Shadow Secretary of State for Equalities

  • Vince Cable

    Vince Cable

    Leader of the Liberal Democrats, MP for Twickenham

  • Catherine Bearder

    Catherine Bearder

    MEP for South East England, EU/ALDE Liaison

  • Ed Davey

    Ed Davey

    Shadow Home Secretary , MP for Kingston & Surbiton

  • Tim Farron

    Tim Farron

    Leader of the Liberal Democrats and candidate for Westmorland and Lonsdale

  • Lynne Featherstone

    Lynne Featherstone

    Baroness Featherstone, Lead Spokesperson for Energy and Climate Change

  • Wera Hobhouse

    Wera Hobhouse

    Shadow Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government; Refugees, MP for Bath

  • Norman Lamb

    Norman Lamb

    Shadow Health Secretary, MP for North Norfolk

  • Stephen Lloyd

    Stephen Lloyd

    Shadow Work and Pensions Secretary, MP for Eastbourne

  • Layla Moran

    Layla Moran

    Shadow Education Secretary; Young People, MP for Oxford West and Abingdon

  • Caroline Pidgeon

    Caroline Pidgeon

    Member of the London Assembly, Shadow Minister for London

/* */