Rural Communities - Policy Working Group

This group wants your input now.

You can feed into the group's work in three ways:

1) Respond to the online consultation

2) Read the full consultation paper and email us your response

3) Hold an event in your local area and feed back your opinions.


The deadline for input to the Rural Communities Working Group is Friday 14th April.




The Rural Communities working group is chaired by Heather Kidd. Heather has been a councillor for a rural ward in Shropshire since 1996, and has a long history of campaigning on rural issues within the Liberal Democrats. She is a former leader of South Shropshire District Council and founder of their successful rural affordable housing policy. A member of the Rural Services network until 2007, she is now a member of the Local Government Association’s Economy and Transport Board and Deputy Chair of their People and Places Board (rural).


Working Group Members

Peter Fane - Vice Chair

Kate Parminter - Environment, Food, and Rural Affairs Spokesperson

Mark Williams - Environment, Food, and Rural Affairs Commons Spokesperson

Phil Bennion - Federal Policy Committee Representative

Kay Barnard

Jeremy Bolas

Dennis Brewer

Virginia Gay

Alison Glasspool

John Hassall

James Holt

Lorraine Johnson

Susan Juned

Lucy Marsden

Zoe McLean

John Salisbury

Tod Sullivan

Stuart Warner

Alison Whelan

Sarah Yong


Working Group Remit

The working group will be making policy in areas set out by the Federal Policy Committee. You can find the remit for the group here.

Want to find out more about the #libdemfightback? Sign up here...

Sign up or log in using: or

Join us today

Britain needs Liberal voices. Add yours to ours and be part of what comes next:

Meet our MPs

Your Liberal Democrat MPs

Autumn Conference

Bournemouth - 16-19 Sept 2017

Our plan

Read the Liberal Democrats 2017 General Election Manifesto - and find out what we stand for here:

/* */