Liberal Democrats

Scottish Liberal Democrats

The Scottish Liberal Democrats are the state party of the Liberal Democrats in Scotland. We are working to build a stronger economy and a fairer society and making the case for a stronger Scotland remaining part of the United Kingdom.

The Scottish Liberal Democrats are represented at the Scottish Parliament by 5 MSPs, led by party leader Willie Rennie MSP.

At Westminster, the Scottish Liberal Democrats are represented by 4 MPs.

Willie Rennie


Willie Rennie is MSP for North East Fife and the Leader of the Scottish Liberal Democrats. 

Willie was Member of Parliament for Dunfermline and West Fife between 2006 and 2010 winning a stunning by-election from Labour. A Fifer, Willie lives in Kelty with his wife, Janet, and two young sons.

Willie was elected as leader of the Scottish Liberal Democrats after he was returned as MSP for Mid-Scotland and Fife at the 2011 Scottish General Election.  Since his appointment, he has campaigned to give families in Scotland a fair deal on childcare support and criticised the SNP over college cuts that have made it more difficult for young people to get on in life.

Willie won the North East Fife constituency back from the SNP at the Scottish Parliament election in May 2016 with 44% of the vote and a 3465 majority, up 15.4% on the 2011 result.

The Scottish Parliament

The Scottish Parliament was established after the Scotland Act 1998 transferred responsibility for education, transport, justice, health and other issues away from Westminster.

Former Liberal Democrat Leader David Steel was the first Presiding Officer of the new Parliament, which met for the first time in May 1999. The Scottish Liberal Democrats were in government in Scotland between 1999 and 2007 in coalition.

The Scottish Parliament is made up of 129 elected MSPs. 

Your Elected Representatives

Click on the profiles below to find out about the people representing you in Scotland.

  • Jo Swinson

    Jo Swinson

    Liberal Democrat Leader and MP for East Dunbartonshire

  • Alex Cole-Hamilton

    Alex Cole-Hamilton

    MSP for Edinburgh Western

  • Alistair Carmichael

    Alistair Carmichael

    Liberal Democrat Chief Whip, Shadow Cabinet member for Northern Ireland & Liberal Democrat MP for Orkney and Shetland

  • Christine Jardine

    Christine Jardine

    Shadow Cabinet member for the Home Department, Justice, Women and Equalities, Deputy Chief Whip & Liberal Democrat MP for Edinburgh West.

  • Liam McArthur

    Liam McArthur

    MSP for Orkney

  • Mike Rumbles

    Mike Rumbles

    MSP for North East Scotland

  • Jamie Stone

    Jamie Stone

    Shadow Cabinet member for Defence & Scotland & Liberal Democrat MP for Caithness, Sutherland and Easter Ross

  • Tavish Scott

    Tavish Scott

    MSP for Shetland

  • Willie Rennie

    Willie Rennie

    Leader of the Scottish Liberal Democrats, MSP for North East Fife